Medical information  
 Terms Glossary
 First Aid
 Diet Information
 Preventive Medicine
 Immunization Schedules
 Biological Warfare Effects & Treatment
 Men's health
 Atlas of skin diseases
 Drug encyclopedia
 Atlas of human anatomy
 Alternative medicine
 Baby's developmental milestones
 Medical laboratory tests
 Smoking and health effect
 Advice for travelers
 Hearth attack: risk chart
 Diabetes: risk chart
 Cancer: risk chart
 Alcoholism and treatment
 Topic of the Week
 Medical Topic
 Latest News
 News Archive
  » Advice for travelers  »  Yellow Fever Infected Areas

These are areas where the virus is present in monkeys and is a potential risk to humans as defined by the World Health Organisation. 

Some of these countries demand a yellow fever certificate from travellers as a condition of entry to their country. Many of these, and other countries, will ask you for a certificate if you are entering from an infected country. 

Your travel agent should inform you if you need a certificate when you are booking your holiday or flight. You can double check if in doubt with your local yellow fever vaccination centre (details from your local Health Board). 

This map shows in red the approximate distribution of the 'infected zones'.

In Africa
Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo,  Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea,  Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia In America
Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Peru, Surinam, Venezuela.

Some countries do not exactly follow these World Health Organisation guidelines

  • Belize is considered endemic by Bangladesh, Egypt and Guyana
  • Costa Rica is considered infected by Bangladesh.
  • Djibouti is considered endemic by Guinea-Bissau.
  • Honduras, Nicaragua and Equatorial Guinea are considered endemic by Bangladesh,
  • Equatorial Guinea is considered endemic by Egypt, Guinea-Bissau and India.
  • Malawi is considered endemic by Bangladesh
  • Mauritania is considered endemic by Bangladesh and Guinea Bissau.